New Slow Dancing Society Album Out Now!

The Wagers of Love and Their Songs from the Witching HourHidden Shoal is excited to announce the official release of The Wagers Of Love And Their Songs From The Witching Hour, the stunning new album from American atmospherist Slow Dancing Society.

On his seventh full-length release as Slow Dancing Society, Drew Sullivan’s sound continues to evolve. This 19-track epic meshes the warm, rich SDS sound with a new set of textures, bringing these musical snapshots into vivid definition. Trumpet and saxophone nestle amidst lyrical guitar lines, pulsing rhythms and expansive synths, creating an immersive and melancholy listen, tempered with rays of hope.

Sullivan’s work is as cinematic as ever, yet here he’s scoring a more personal film. Profoundly influenced by Sullivan’s experience of becoming a father for the first time, the album took shape around the creation of single ‘The Color of Despair’. The track distilled his anxieties about his new life and responsibilities, and became ground zero for the album’s sound and production, with many other songs on the album evolving out of its instrumentation and feel. The ambient lyricism present here is a testament to the narrative possibilities of instrumental music, resulting in a strikingly complete-sounding album.

The Wagers Of Love And Their Songs From The Witching Hour is available now  via iTunes and BandCamp. The first single from the album, ‘The Color of Despair’ is also available as a stream and free download. The full Slow Dancing Society catalogue is also available for licensing across film, tv, games and compilation so please contact us if you’re working on a project and you need that luscious, warm SDS sound then please do contact us.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponDigg thisEmail this to someone